Skip to content

Autumn kids…

September 26, 2009

It is time to post some pictures of my own kids I think!  And what better day to photograph them than on a cool crisp autumn morning.  I can just smell it when I look at these pictures!  I want to encourage you to get out and take some pictures of your kids enjoying the season.  The pictures don’t have to be perfect, but 10 years from now, you won’t remember that funny little expression she makes when she is growling like a tiger, that little curl that falls across her forehead or that look she has when she is staring off into the distance at something that has caught her eye.  That is what these pictures are about for me.  They are my memory of exactly what my precious little girls looked like on Saturday, September 26, 2009.  And someday, if they are like me, my girls will look at these images and be taken back to that perfect morning in the yard with their mommy.

When I think about my early childhood, my memory of a lot of things isn’t incredibly vivid.  But, a glance at one picture from my four year birthday party zaps me back to that very moment when I was playing on my new swing set with my friends Rhonda, Kameesha and Jennifer.  I remember Rhonda’s haircut, Kameesha’s chubby cheeks and beautiful eye lashes and how Jennifer loved to pretend she was a unicorn.  Wow, it is amazing how magical that swing set was!  I could swing so high and if I leaned back and looked straight up at the sky, I could fly.  I remember what our yard was like way back before my dad built my covered sandbox, before the garden was there, before the land was cleared for our new house to be built….sigh….such simple and happy times.  I’m so thankful for photographs.

sp8749

sp8756seventies

sp8764

sp8766

sp8767

sp8773

sp8803

sp8863

sp8917

sp8947

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Allison Smith permalink
    September 27, 2009 8:13 pm

    Oh- I love these, Maggie! Okay- the one of Halle-finger-in-the-nose….CLASSIC!

  2. maggiehendrix permalink*
    September 27, 2009 10:05 pm

    🙂 Thanks! Yep, Halle seems to keep her finger in her nose these days. Some day, she will will be old enough to get me back for putting pictures like that on the internet!

  3. sarah permalink
    September 30, 2009 6:45 am

    loving the nose picking picture!

Leave a Reply

