Skip to content

vacation…

September 19, 2008

We just returned from our FIRST family vacation!  Of course, John and I have vacationed before, but this was our first vacation with the girls.  We headed down to Orange Beach, Alabama just in time to catch the waves of Hurricane Ike.  The evening we arrived at our condo, the waves were around 17 ft!  The first image below is the view of them off of our balcony.  We couldn’t have chosen a better time to hit the beach.  With the hurricane stirring up the waters, not only was the view beautiful and the temperature perfect, but there we had all kinds of fascinating finds on the beach!  The first night there, John and I took a walk on the beach and we got to see a baby sea turtle heading out to sea!  Unfortunately, I didn’t have my camera with me…

The girls had so much fun.  I think my favorite part was just sitting and watching them run through the water, dig in the sand and jump the waves.  We had such a relaxing and refreshing time.  My mom and sister went with us and it was an absolute blessing having them along.  You will see my mermaid tail masterpiece below in the picture of my sis and Lily.  It was so fun playing in the sugar white sand just like when I was a kid.  I walked on the beach every morning at sunrise collecting shells that were washed up with the tide and every night with a full moon shining across the ocean.  I would be so skinny if I lived there!  I literally had to make myself go inside. 

We are already making plans to go back as soon as possible!  I’m sure there will be more pictures to come, but for now, here are a few quick picks.

View from our balcony

View from our balcony

I love sandpipers... such funny little birds

I love sandpipers... such funny little birds

Morning beach treasures, compliments of Hurricane Ike.

Morning beach treasures, compliments of Hurricane Ike.

A tiny crab

A tiny crab

Running to the waves

Running to the waves

Beach Bum

Beach Bum

Playing together nicely... Heaven on earth!!!

Playing together nicely... Heaven on earth!!!

Mermaids

Mermaids

Just before sunrise

Just before sunrise

Sun peeking over the water's edge

Sun peeking over the water

Can you believe this?

Can you believe this?

 

One of God's many wonders

One of God's many wonders

Sea oats

Sea oats

Sea Oats off of our boardwalk

Sea Oats off of our boardwalk

 

5 Comments leave one →
  1. September 20, 2008 5:17 pm

    okay, so i was so into myself we did not talk about this the other day!!!!!! what awesome photos!

  2. September 20, 2008 5:39 pm

    Beautiful pictures, Maggie. Now I’m yearning to go to the beach! I loved it when I lived in Virginia Beach and near the coast of Maryland. My favorite coastal vacation was Maine where they have the best of both worlds; mountains right on the beach!

  3. Casey permalink
    September 22, 2008 8:01 pm

    Wow! Beautiful, beautiful, beautiful! I’m blessed to have such a talented friend.

  4. Sharon permalink
    September 23, 2008 2:00 pm

    Such beautiful pictures!!! You do such a wonderful job. This really makes me want to go there!!!

  5. September 23, 2008 6:22 pm

    wow! your pictures do a fabulous job of explaining how wonderful you said it was.

Leave a Reply

