Skip to content

An EXCITING announcement!

August 22, 2008

I want to share something with you all that is very close to my heart as well as my husband, John’s.  For the last (almost) 3 years, we have been involved with supporting a child and a missionary through Gospel For Asia .  Below you will see their pictures.  The little girl we sponsor is Pratiksa Sable and our missionary’s name is Manoj Minz.  I wish I had the words to describe what it is like when we get a letter in the mail from either of them.  I loved hearing about Pratiksa’s birthday celebration with the other children at Bridge of Hope and how well she is doing in math.  Manoj sends word of how many people he has been able to reach with the gospel and how the Lord strengthens him and his family even when they face great adversity.  What a blessing to know that we are able to be a part of their lives even from across the globe!

   

Gospel for Asia is such an incredible ministry.  One hundred percentof all contributions designated for use on the mission field are sent to the mission field.  Even the state-side missionaries who run this organization raise their own support so that all of their income can go to the mission field.  GFA was founded by K.P. Yohannan, a native of India and he has such a passion to see the lost “untouchables” or dalits of India, as well as all of the unreached in the 10/40 window, come to Jesus Christ and know their true value in Him. 

So what is my exciting announcement you ask?  For the last few months, I have been praying about how the Lord would have me use my business to help further His kingdom.  I have wanted to do something that would bless those who have the greatest need.  I have finally decided that 5% of each client order I receive will go straight to a family in need through GFA.  This 5% will come from my client sitting fees and print orders as well as any weddings that I book.  For example, say I have a client who books a session for their 3 children and orders $600 worth of prints.  This client’s total with session fee and prints would be $740.  I would take 5% off of the top of their order total, which would be $37.00, and that would go directly to GFA!

Another thing that I love about this opportunity is that each of my clients can choose exactly what they want their 5% to go toward.  On the GFA donations page, there are numerous options to choose from that 100% of your donation will go to.  Here is a list of things that the above client could do with her $37:

  • Bio Sand Water Filter $25
  • Blanket $5
  • Vocational Training $25
  • Bibles $3
  • Kerosene Lantern $24
  • Winter Clothing Packet $40
  • VBS Materials $15
  • Pair of Chickens $10
  • Pair of Rabbits $10

And there are so many more options to choose from including an area where you can simply give where it is most needed.  This will also be a great opportunity to get your children involved in deciding where they would like to see the money go.  I have friends whose children save their change up in a jar and they are so excited when they can sit down with their mom and dad at the computer and buy a pair of goats or rabbits or chickens that will feed a family and provide a source of income for years to come.  I just get so excited thinking about it!!!  I picture the smiles on the faces of a starving family when a water buffalo (yes, you can even buy a water buffalo) is brought to their home/shack.  That water buffalo can provide Transportation, be used to plough, haul a cart and provide milk that the family can drink as well as sell!  I could go on and on about the possibilities…

I encourage you all to check out the GFA website and just see the incredible work that the Lord is doing through this great ministry.  If you would like to go directly to the donations page to see the many areas that you can give to, click here.

I can’t wait to get started with all of my upcoming client orders!  I already love what I do, but this passion to give to those in need is just fuel to my fire now!  I would love to hear any feedback or questions that you have about Gospel for Asia so feel free to leave a comment to this post and I will reply with answers to your questions.  Have a blessed weekend!

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 23, 2008 11:18 pm

    Maggie,
    that’s incredible! It is very inspiring to know that your heart leads you in such a way! I know God already has blessed you in many ways and with works like these he will continue because you are working to further his kingdom. Thanks for setting the standards for other photographers so high.

Leave a Reply

