Skip to content

Senior Portraits, with STYLE and CLASS…

August 15, 2008

I have been planning this post for some time now and have finally gotten caught up on all of my work and have time to write it.  This is the time of year when seniors start making their appointments for senior sessions.  They are excited to start their FINAL year in high school and this is their year to shine!  I LOVE my Seniors.  It is so awesome to meet so many fabulous young men and woman who are standing at the edge of the next great chapter in their lives, ready to take the plunge.  When I photograph a senior girl, my passion is to capture the woman that she is becoming and “daddy’s little girl” at the same time.  I want parents to see the confident and strong young man that their son has become and remember the dirty, rowdy, rough-housing little boy that he was.  After all, that is what photography is about to me.  It is so much more than taking a picture of what a person looks like.  It is showing who they are inside and out. 

Which brings me to my next point…

I have seen sooo many senior pictures recently that have over-sexualized today’s teens.  I see so many images of beautiful young women and can’t even believe the messages that some of these images are sending.  I don’t want to be crass or rude but it has to be said that a senior portrait should not be saying “Here I am world! I’m young, sexy and available…” .  I had a hard time even choosing words to describe what I’ve been seeing lately without sounding too vulgar. 

I encourage all of you to really take a look at the work of the photographer whom you are considering for your child’s senior portraits.  First off, you need to choose a photographer whose style fits your wants/needs.  Whether you want traditional studio portraits or more contemporary lifestyle portraiture, make sure that you choose a professional whose work reflects your desires.  Second, check out some of the posing in your photographer’s portfolio.  It isn’t hard to figure out what kind of message poses send.  Recently, I saw a set of typical senior portraits where the young lady was wearing short shorts and a low-cut shirt.  The photographer positioned the girl in such a way that you could see straight down her shirt, up her shorts when she was sitting as well as SEVERAL very suggestive poses.  It is the photographer’s responsibility to watch out for these things.  I have to question the intent of a photographer who portrays their subject in such a way.  I do understand that sometimes teens pose themselves the way that they are used to seeing in magazines,but gentle guidance from a professional who cares about their client’s image can go a long way to truly flatter an individual.

In short, Seniors, your senior portraits will be images that you and your family will look back on for generations to come.  Your pictures should be all about you and who you *really* are.  Your pictures should be as unique as you are and someday, when you have children of your own, you can be proud of the person that they see when they pull them out of the closet! 

I would LOVE the opportunity to document this exciting time in your life.  To find out more about my senior sessions and senior rep opportunities, give me a call at 501-388-3256.  I look forward to hearing from you!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

