Skip to content

One more good reason to hire a professional…

June 3, 2008

I’ll get right to it…

Yesterday, my 500 gigabyte external hard drive crashed.  This hard drive would be the one that I upload ALL of my client’s session images to.  Yes, you heard me right, ALL OF THEM.  I accessed my hard drive to start working on my editing for the day and when I did, I discovered that all of my files were gone.  45 gig of files, gone.  Where?  I don’t know.  But what I do know is this…  Praise God that I had them all backed up to DVDs.   All of my clients can rest assured that your files are protected and not lost!

I had weddings, engagements, bridals, newborn sessions, maternity, seniors, childhood sessions, basically thousands of memories that, for my clients, could not be replaced.  Your baby is only newborn once.  Your daughter will (hopefully) only be a senior in high school once.  Your wedding day only happens once (again, once would be preferable).  For a photographer in the digital age, our digital files are the negatives to our work.  With film, as you know, the film negative can be saved  for future printing and now the digital negative is what we use for your prints. 

It is the responsibility of a photographer to ensure that your files are protected and backed up in the event that something goes wrong with my computer, or in this case my external hard drive.  This storage of your precious memories is another quality that you are paying for when you hire a professional.  A professional takes the time and spends the extra $ to ensure that your files are backed up and protected.

My hard drive is now undergoing massive surgery at the “computer hospital” where they are attempting to retrieve all of my lost files.  Yes, I had all of my client files backed up, but I did have some recent personal files that were not.  If they are unable to retrieve my files, I will have lost some precious pictures of my girls forever.  How tragic would that be???  I am spending big bucks ($70/hr to be exact) to find those pictures of my girls, because it is worth it to me to have them back. 

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. Rachel Moore permalink
    June 21, 2008 3:33 am

    Maggie I am so sorry to hear about your pics!
    I do not know what I would do if they were pics of my babies, however, I agree they are worth any amount of money to try and locate them. When we are old and our memories fail pictures remain to tell the story our minds cannot. I pray the Lord guides the techs fingers and mind to the exact location and that all the files that were lost will be found.

Leave a Reply

