Skip to content

it ain’t pretty…

May 6, 2008

If you have ever seen the movie “Mr. Deeds”, you may remember the part where Deeds is showing his butler his ugly frost-bitten foot.  The butler says to him, “The hideousness of that foot will haunt my dreams forever.”  Well, my foot may not be as hideous as his, but it sure is nasty!  Here’s the story…

NOTICE:  A word to the wise woman who values her life (and her feet), BE CAREFUL WHEN SHAVING YOUR LEGS IN THE SHOWER!!!  Yes, I slipped and fell in the shower on Sunday.  I guess I have always had the fear of slipping in the shower, but now I have done it and can easily say that it is a BAD SITUATION to be in!  For one thing any time you fall it is going to hurt, but falling when you are slippery and naked is all together worse.  And, on top of that, when you scream for help and no one can hear you, you are forced to pull your naked, bruised, half-shaven self up off of the bathtub floor and get help all by yourself.  So sad.  And, on top of all of this, I am at my In-Laws house!  I mean, come on!!!  How much worse can it get???  At this point, my heart is racing, I am holding my breath to keep from bursting into uncontrollable sobbing and just hoping that the right person comes to my rescue as I drag my dripping self into the hallway with a TINY towel (that, THANK GOD was left in the bathroom by my husband because there weren’t any more towels to be found) wrapped around my mangled body.  As I opened the door I yelled “JOOOHHHNNN!”  as loudly as I could without bursting into tears.  He didn’t hear me.  Thank the good Lord though, it was my precious M-I-L that heard my desperate plea.  It could have been my brother in law or even worse, my father-in-law.  Oh my word, I shudder at the thought of that embarrassment…  So, in a flash, my m-i-l ran up the stairs and got John and they helped me to the bedroom.  After I laid in pain for a bit, I managed to get myself dressed and John helped me to the bathroom to wash the mascara off of my face.  I reached into my travel bag to get some lotion and cut my finger nail on a razor that was in the bag.  I didn’t just cut my finger nail at the end.  No, not me, I cut it in the middle of my nail and it went all the way through to that nice little pink protected part underneath your fingernail.  The blood immediately came out the top of my nail and my pointer finger has been sore ever since.  It was a really weird sensation.  I guess since that part of your body isn’t exposed, there aren’t nerve endings there, so it didn’t hurt when it happened, it just felt really, really strange.  I guess my brain was too busy sending the “throbbing, mind-numbing pain” message to my foot to stop and deal with a silly little thing like a fingernail injury.

All-in-all, I am in decent shape.  It could have been much worse.  We think that my foot is just bruised badly with no breaks or damage to the tendon that runs up the middle of the arch.  Here’s the break-down of exactly what happened.  While I was shaving, I had one foot propped up on the back wall of the tub and my other foot slipped out from under me and I did the splits (yes, it must have been a terrible sight).  As my foot slid to the other end of the tub, the metal stopper broke my fall as the arch of my foot slammed against it.  The impact bent the stopper completely sideways (If you look closely, you can see the shape of the stopper in the bruise).  After my fall was broken, I fell backward and kind of sideways and my right hip landed on the side of the PORCELAIN tub.  It all happened very, very fast but it was in complete slow motion for me at the time. 

I can’t believe that I used to shave like this when I was pregnant!  No more of that for me!  I will be taking extra precautions from now on while shaving in the shower.  I advise that you do the same if you want to avoid extreme agony at all costs.

 

12 Comments leave one →
  1. Pam permalink
    May 6, 2008 8:02 pm

    Some days are not as wonderful as others and this seems like a very bad no good day. Later when it doesn’t hurt so bad you can laugh with us at your funny story. Thanks for the laugh.
    pam

  2. May 6, 2008 10:44 pm

    oh maggie, that’s horrible!
    i fell down our stairs last week, but fortunately for me, i wasn’t naked at the time. 😉

  3. maggiehendrix permalink*
    May 6, 2008 11:15 pm

    LOL, I already am laughing about it! I really laugh every time John tells me to stay off of it. Yeah right! I have a 2 year old and a 1 year old! Sheesh. What’s a girl to do? I need my momma to move closer.

  4. Falone permalink
    May 7, 2008 3:32 am

    Ok! First of all we all get to laugh because we have all done something stupid while being naked in the shower! I shave my legs the same way so now I am going to have to rethink this method… That is my worst fear coming true on your foot! I fell getting in to my stupid lindsey tub the other day,(who puts a metal strip around a tub anyway) but no one was home so I just sat in the tub cried thinking how stupid it would look if someone did happen to come home! I feel your pain sister!

  5. May 7, 2008 3:51 am

    Oh wow. that was bad. can’t wait to see u and the kiddos

  6. Lacie permalink
    May 8, 2008 1:08 am

    OUCH!

  7. May 11, 2008 5:39 pm

    Tim just walked in and saw me staring at my computer screen, obviously with a look of horror on my face, “WHAT’S WRONG??????”

    OUCH!!!!!!!

    I am so wierd about my feet and HATE HATE HATE to have injuries anywhere, but on my feet…YIKES!!!

    I’m so sorry!!!!

    Are you walking OK?

  8. RMOORE permalink
    May 12, 2008 3:11 am

    Alright ladies this is how awesome this lady is.
    She is walking around all over Searcy working hard to make my daughters senior pictures wonderful and she says I hurt my foot the other day you need to take a look when you get a chance on my blog. OMGOSH! I had no idea this is how bad it was. Maggie you are hard core awesomeness. I hope that heals up in haste. Love ya

  9. maggiehendrix permalink*
    May 12, 2008 3:57 am

    LOL, I am doing much better! After I had my c-section w/ Halle, my Dr. went on and on about how quickly I heal. I didn’t think much of it, but now, a week later, the bruise is almost completely gone. My foot is still tender and slightly swollen, but that was a DEEP bruise and I just can’t believe how quickly it is healing. Thank you Lord for showing me mercy!!!

  10. Aunt Beth permalink
    May 14, 2008 3:40 pm

    Maggie,
    So glad you are getting better. Guess I hadn’t gone to your blog in about a week, just now getting the message. That looked pretty….blue /purple/green? (With all the excitement of getting my new car and all).

    When you get old ( and you will) and fat (and you probably won’t) like me, you will be sitting on the side of a tub for such as this, trust me!

    Love you,
    Hope you had a great Mothers’ day.
    Aunt Beth

  11. May 14, 2008 7:57 pm

    What a great report of your embarrassment and injuries! I have to admit I was chuckling, but falling in the tub is a fear of mine so I wasn’t chuckling too loud. Glad you are almost fully recovered.

  12. Katrina permalink
    May 22, 2008 4:00 pm

    Maggie, I frequently check your website and blog to view your photos when I need a lift for my day. They are always refreshing. This story on the other hand and the visual picture it portrays was a much needed laugh for my day. I am sorry you experienced pain for our laughter. You tell a good story!!

Leave a Reply

